Skip to content

Meant to be

January 3, 2010

My design philosophy  is to “live with the things I love”. Generally speaking, I buy only the home items that I doubt I can possibly live without.

Enter the antique fire extinguisher lamp I came across in a Craigslist Listing posted on Apartment Therapy. I was drawn to it from the moment saw it. Honestly, I didn’t NEED a new lamp, and I was trying to save money but… I thought I’d just email the seller and inquire. Most likely, I wouldn’t get it but I had to try.  And if fate WANTED me to have the lamp, well then, who am I to argue?

Becoming the owner of that fire extinguisher lamp was my destiny. Not only was I the first to contact the seller (keep in mind, she was in CA and I live in NY), but she was willing to ship the lamp at no additional charge. She said that I’d opened the floodgates, and her email exploded with other would-be antique fire extinguisher lamp owners, but I had been promised the prize. 

To seal the deal I also scored a lampshade from a colleague who just happened to be selling it right at that time. It fit just beautifully, I think the stars must have been aligned.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2011 12:52 am

    Love how it turned out. I really wish we could find a really old one like that. We are revamping a “new” fire extinguisher into a lamp also, but for a little boys room. We found your photo on Google images and it was love at first sight, I had to stop by and say hi.

  2. Christie permalink
    June 29, 2011 12:14 pm

    When my dad was 16, he made a bunch of these and sold them….I wonder if he made this one. We’re from the Boston area, but these things get pretty far through yardsales and ebay and stuff….

    • ew32766 permalink*
      July 5, 2011 8:31 pm

      That really would be “meant to be,” Christie!

Trackbacks

  1. ADVENTURES IN REPURPOSING: my living room evolution « Salvaged Grace

Leave a Reply

