Skip to content

INSPIRATION vintage lawn games

June 21, 2010
tags:

I have a dream. A dream that one day I’ll own a house in upstate New York. And every weekend I’ll invite my city friends to escape up to the country. And I’ll wear long, flowy dresses and greet my weary travelers with welcome cocktails and a full spread of delicious locally prepared food.

We’ll spend nights playing guitar, roasting marshmallows and singing around a fire.  And days swimming, hiking, and… playing vintage lawn games.

 

Image via Once Wed

 

May I interest you in a game of croquet?

 

Available in Bridget372's Ebay shop

 

 

Or perhaps you prefer bocce?

 

Available in Hannawg2x43's Ebay shop

 

 

Maybe badminton or tennis on the lawn?

 

Image via Ethan Ollie's Etsy shop, product no longer available

 

In July, I’d throw a Bastille Day celebration, complete with a petanque tournament and a never-ending supply of Lillet.

 

Vintage petanque set available at My Petite Maison

I’d have these on hand for anyone wishing to play an impromptu game of horseshoes.

 

Image via Olde Good Things

 

Perhaps in the woods just over a hill, there’s be a tree with an old darts board hung on it’s trunk. I may have to institute a sobriety test before my guests would be allowed to handle darts.

 

Image via American Styled Arts

 

It will be a while before my country house dream comes true.

In the meantime, with Prospect Park close by and the Governor’s Island Jazz Age Lawn Party right around the corner… there will still be a place for vintage lawn games.

Oh yes there will.

Share

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ramona McDaris permalink
    June 21, 2010 7:53 am

    Love those photos. I, too, loved the idea of old-fashioned outdoor games and, having lived in France, I bought not one but TWO petanque sets for a big outdoor family get-together. But my wimpy relatives only played for 20 minutes (“Too hot out!”). Well, it WAS in Texas and it WAS 96 degrees out, but still, we could have played and then cooled off under the shade trees with “sweet-tea”, n’est pas? So now I use my two sets, in their cool little wooden boxes, as book-ends!

    • ew32766 permalink*
      June 23, 2010 7:24 am

      What a shame but the bookends are a nice alternative! You never know when you’ll need a petanque set. Also, you should check out the Bastille Day celebration in Carroll Gardens in Brooklyn… lots of petanque in the streets!

Leave a Reply

