Skip to content

International Home Magazines

August 26, 2010

As you may have guessed, I spend a good portion of time searching for material for Salvaged Grace. My inspiration comes in all forms; places I’m visiting in life, people I meet, television shows or movies, of course the internet, and even (old school) magazine articles.

Vintage Treasures Vignette via Canadian House and Home

At the beginning of this year, I began a subscription to Canadian House and Home, which I can’t tell you how much I’ve enjoyed. It was the perfect antidote to the loss of Domino. It’s well designed, chock full of ideas and pictures of amazing spaces. From what I can ascertain Canadian House and Home is one of the few international home magazines offering a good price for international subscribers.

via UK House and Garden

Then came my journey to Europe, during which I picked up British home design magazines like Living Etc, Elle Decoration UK, House and Garden. Since then, I go out of my way to a little magazine shop on 23rd Street to spend $8 on these publications every so often.

via Living Etc

As you’d expect, the English home magazines contain so many examples of old buildings being renovated and converted. For example, there was an amazing article in Living Etc. about an old schoolhouse converted into a living space.. My favorite part of the redesign was the mirrored shutters on the mezzanine above the living space which allows for upstairs privacy but takes advantage of one of the amazing elements of the original structure – those tall windows!

via Elle Decoration France

Somehow I managed to decipher an entire article in Elle Decoration France about designers who use salvaged materials in design. It’s a shame my french is so bad, I bet there’s so much more good material in there right under my American nose. But the pictures tell a good story as well. Ah yes, look at this traditional stone arched entryway, closed in with new bookshelves and a door.

via Vogue Living Australia

Another good find was Vogue Living Australia, which manages to round-up quite an international collection of properties to show. The images always spectacularly large and dramatic, in this one.

If you, like me, have an addiction to  magazine page clippings, I’m telling you international home magazines provide a bastion of inspiration. And if you’re budget reading, try the online equivalents! Do you have any go-to home design magazine favorites? International or otherwise?

Share

2 Comments leave one →
  1. beautifuliving permalink
    August 27, 2010 3:42 pm

    I LOVE European decor mags. I’m most found of those from the UK because I feel like the looks are achivable. Nothing more depressing then magazine after magazine having these things you love and want cost a grand or more.

    And that issue of House and Garden looks devine.

    • ew32766 permalink*
      August 27, 2010 4:09 pm

      AGREED! I hate the uber-“industry” ones where everything is all high concept and high prices. Give me mix and match and budget creativity, any day!

Leave a Reply

