Skip to content

Apartment Shopping

November 1, 2010

November, already. With BC working super hard the last month of his 13 Days of Halloween videos, I’m selfishly very glad it’s over and November declared “our month”… because we have A LOT to do to get set up for BC’s impending move.

The first order of business is getting a new dresser for BC. I’m hoping ya’ll can help. The original plan was to buy something cheap, paint it black and add new hardware. But when I set out to look for dressers yesterday, here’s what I found.

The thing about these two “cheap options” is that by the time I spend the money to buy, transport them, and repaint, I’ll have invested a good amount.

 

I like price on both of these and they both look well made, but they aren’t really the style I’m looking for. Still, I could paint them or change the hardware. That might help a little.

 

The Empire dresser is amazing, but we’re definitely not looking to spend $850 on a dresser. I found the dresser on the right (the 1930’s dresser) at an antique shop I like in Chelsea. I’m not giving you the name yet, because I plan to campaign pretty hard to BC that this is the dresser we should get. Solid mahogany, the perfect width and height for the space, I especially love the small drawers at the top. There’s tons of storage and at $265 it’s not THAT much more than the fixer uppers… stay tuned.

 

Moving on to the bathroom:

 

What I really want is something industrial but I just can’t seem to find it! The drawers on the left are the perfect height, but they might be too deep for our narrow(ish) bathroom. The cabinet in the middle is cool, but the drawers are too small. I can’t decide what I think of the shelf on the right. It’s not too expensive, potentially it could be cool repainted. Also, that bottom shelf would be perfect for my “stacking towels on a tray” plan.

 

Finally, we had originally decided to move my couch into BC’s study. But it’s a little too large for the space. BC’s only request is that he be able to lounge comfortably. However, it’s tough to find nice, upholstered pieces at a good price.  Also, I have nightmares (regularly) about getting bed bugs, so I’m a little nervous about taking a chance on second-hand upholstered pieces right now. I found a nice chair and settee at West Elm. But I also found a good looking chair and a neat little settee at antique shops in Brooklyn and Manhattan. Though the junk shop settee is a totally different style than I was thinking – we might be able to make it work with the right accessories.

 

Yikes, it’s already November and we have a long way to go.

Share

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Gleason Johnston permalink
    November 2, 2010 7:16 pm

    I’d say definitely the 1930s dresser. I like the middle picture for the bathroom unit but the open shelving with organized containers may be a better solution. As for the sofa & chair-I’m pretty sure there is a way you can spray the furniture to deplete bed bugs (if their are any) but whether you buy new or used-go with comfort and lasting style. Sometimes it’s better to buy new then to have to reupholster etc….. Sounds like you are moving right along. Good luck!

    • ew32766 permalink*
      November 2, 2010 7:55 pm

      Thanks Gleason!! I’m sending BC to look at the dresser but basically he said if I think it’s best, it’s a go!!! I’m excited, I just might give him my old dresser and take the new one! 😉 Hope you are well! Love seeing FB pics of all the fun you and Kate are having!

Leave a Reply

